Icon
16 AIRCRAFT
Icon
US$ 3.5bn AuM
Icon
US$ 760m EQUITY/MEZZ FUNDING RAISED

ABOUT US

EMP dedicates itself exclusively to aircraft leasing, be it arranging individual transactions or developing portfolio solutions. EMP is a unique, reliable and transparent company with real entrepreneurial spirit. EMP is not only an advisor, but also arranges investments at its own risk, providing essential alignment of investor and manager interests.

This is also reflected in the entrepreneurial character of the management involved in the company. The team at EMP stands for an excellent and proven transaction history and has an international network of established partners. The circle of shareholders consists of the management as well as the investment company of a German single family office.

Leadership

Florian Maier

Founder and managing partner – the „M“ in EMP.

Florian Maier

Founder and managing partner – the „M“ in EMP.

Florian is responsible for business development, controlling and transaction structuring. With an asset volume of more than EUR 5 billion, Florian has extensive experience in the field of alternative investments including aviation and private equity. After studying business economics, Florian started his career at a large auditing firm in 2002 before joining Hannover Leasing in 2005. There he became Co-Head of Alternative Investments and was responsible for numerous transactions worldwide.

Philipp Prior

Founder and managing partner – the „P“ in EMP.

Philipp Prior

Founder and managing partner – the „P“ in EMP.

Philipp has nearly 20 years of experience in the structured financing of alternative investments with a total volume of more than EUR 10 billion. Philipp is responsible for deal origination, refinancing and structuring transactions. After his business studies Philipp joined the aviation team of Hannover Leasing in 1998. He became Head of Alternative Investments and was responsible for the acquisition, structuring and implementation of aviation, infrastructure and private equity transactions worldwide.

Volker Fabian

Volker Fabian

Volker Fabian has joined the management team of EMP as Managing Director of the Irish subsidiary EMP Aviation Ireland Ltd.. Volker has many years of experience in the aircraft leasing sector. His banking background has led him into leading positions in major aircraft leasing companies, including Intrepid, BOC Aviation, and most recently as CEO of ELIX Aviation Capital Ltd., a leading leasing company for regional aircraft. Volker will expand the diversification of EMP through its large industrial network, building a leasing company in Ireland in parallel.

Stefan Ziegler

Stefan Ziegler

Stefan Ziegler represents the EMP shareholder Addvalue Capital, which is responsible for the investment and transaction management of a German single family office. He will support EMP’s management team in further developing and expanding the company’s business areas and in opening new investment opportunities for national and international investors. For that, Stefan Ziegler brings his experience in the field of aircraft financing and investment products from his previous positions. As a long-time managing director of the KGAL Group, as well as managing director and board member of Lufthansa Leasing GmbH, he was responsible for the leasing transactions of the Lufthansa Group as well as for the initiation of institutional investment funds in the areas of aviation, other alternative assets and real estate.

Team

Patrice Dietzel

Patrice Dietzel

VICE PRESIDENT

Patrice is responsible for structuring, documenting and implementing transactions. Patrice has more than 12 years of experience with international structured asset finance. After studying business, he joined Hannover Leasing, where he was responsible for the development and implementation of new financing options for infrastructure and aircraft transactions.

Klaus Roeder

Klaus Roeder

VICE PRESIDENT

Klaus is responsible for portfolio management and investor reporting as well as product management with all regulatory aspects. Klaus has more than 13 years of experience as an investment manager in international asset financing. After completing his business studies, Klaus began his career with Arthur Andersen in capital markets related projects. Before joining EMP, Klaus was a project manager at Hannover Leasing focusing on asset management and implementation of infrastructure projects, particularly around renewable energy.

Spike Fulford (CFA)

Spike Fulford (CFA)

VICE PRESIDENT

Spike is responsible for deal origination, financial modeling and relationship management. As an investment manager Spike has 11 years of experience in the aerospace industry. After two years at QinetiQ, Spike joined Airbus in 2008, where up until early 2017 he held various senior positions in Customer Services, on the Final Assembly Line, and in Customer Finance. Spike has an MEng in Aerospace Engineering, a PGC in Management, and holds the Chartered Financial Analyst designation.

Claudia Lennartz

Claudia Lennartz

OFFICE and PROJECT MANAGER

As office and project manager Claudia has many years of experience organizing internal projects. Before joining EMP, Claudia worked for Philipp Prior for many years and supported the team at Hannover Leasing.

Mark Rangel

Mark Rangel

PRICING ANALYST

Based out of EMP Aviation Ireland Ltd., Mark is responsible for financial modelling and transactional support. From his work for KPMG Kuwait, his audit background provides an in-depth understanding of the operational and financial structure of multiple institutions within manufacturing, service, and financial industries in the Middle East. He is also a recent graduate of the MSc in Aviation Finance from UCD Michael Smurfit Graduate Business School in Dublin and prior to joining EMP, he worked for SMBC Aviation Capital.

Thomas Lüdicke

Thomas Lüdicke

ANALYST

At present, parallel to his studies in Munich, Thomas supports the transaction team of EMP.

Domenic Meining

Domenic Meining

ANALYST

At present, parallel to his studies in Munich, Domenic supports the transaction team of EMP.

START YOUR CAREER
» AT EMP ««

INVESTMENT
STRATEGY

EMP is one of the market leaders for structured aircraft financing in Germany. EMP arranges and structures long-term airline lease financing and places the resulting tranches as institutional products with national and international insurance companies, pension funds, family offices and foundations.

Aircraft leasing investments are characterized by special success factors:

  • They are used as part of portfolio strategic asset allocation to diversify investments, since their investment-specific risks are only slightly correlated with the risks of traditional assets.
  • They offer attractive risk / return profiles, thanks to maturity, illiquidity and risk premiums, which are difficult to find in traditional asset classes in the current market environment.
  • They complement alternative asset classes such as real estate and infrastructure for which either the risk budget has often been exhausted, or, there is insufficient appropriate deal flow.

The team at EMP closely supports investors in answering fundamental implementation questions around portfolio construction and supports clients in the areas of risk management, reporting and regulation.

STORIES

CONTACT

EMP Structured Assets GmbH

Weinstr. 3
80333 Munich
Germany

+49 89 21 23 12 60
contact@emp-assets.com

Icon
16 AIRCRAFT
Icon
US$ 3.5bn AuM
Icon
US$ 760m EQUITY/MEZZ FUNDING RAISED

UEBER UNS

Seit ihrer Gründung 2013 widmet sich EMP ganz dem Investment in Flugzeugleasingtransaktionen, sei es in Einzeltransaktionen oder über Portfoliolösungen. EMP setzt auf Verlässlichkeit, Individualität und Transparenz sowie auf unternehmerisches Denken und Handeln. Dabei ist EMP nicht nur beratend tätig, sondern arrangiert Investitionsvorhaben auch auf eigenes Risiko um institutionellen Investoren ein größtmögliches Alignment of Interest zu bieten.

Dies spiegelt sich auch in der unternehmerischen Prägung des am Unternehmen beteiligten Managements wider. Das Team der EMP steht für eine ausgezeichnete und nachgewiesene Transaktionshistorie und verfügt über ein internationales Netzwerk mit etablierten Partnern. Der Gesellschafterkreis besteht aus dem Management, sowie der Beteiligungsgesellschaft eines deutschen Single Family Office.

Leadership

Florian Maier

Gründungspartner und geschäftsführender Gesellschafter

– das „M“ der EMP.

Florian Maier

Gründungspartner und geschäftsführender Gesellschafter

– das „M“ der EMP.

Verantwortlich für Business Development, Controlling und Transaktionsstrukturierung. Mit einem Asset-Volumen von über 5 Mrd. Euro verfügt der Managing Partner über große Erfahrung im Bereich der Alternative Investments einschließlich Aviation und Private Equity. Nach seinem betriebswirtschaftlichen Studium begann Florian Maier 2002 seine Karriere bei einem großen Wirtschaftsprüfungsunternehmen, bevor er 2005 zu Hannover Leasing wechselte, wo er Co-Head für Alternative Investments wurde und für zahlreiche weltweite Transaktionen zuständig war.

Philipp Prior

Gründungspartner und geschäftsführender Gesellschafter

– das „P“ der EMP.

Philipp Prior

Gründungspartner und geschäftsführender Gesellschafter

– das „P“ der EMP.

Verantwortlich für Transaktionsakquise, Refinanzierung und Transaktionsstrukturierung. Der Managing Partner verfügt über 20 Jahre Erfahrung im Structured Finance für Alternative Investments mit einem Volumen von über 10 Mrd. Euro. Nach seinem betriebswirtschaftlichen Studium, stieg Philipp Prior 1998 in der Flugzeugfinanzierung bei der Hannover Leasing ein. Als Head of Alternative Investments zeichnete er für die weltweite Akquise, Strukturierung und Implementierung von Luftfahrtfinanzierungen, Infrastruktur- und Private-Equity-Projekten verantwortlich.


Volker Fabian


Volker Fabian

Volker Fabian verstärkt das Führungsteam der EMP als Managing Director der irischen Dependance EMP Aviation Ireland Ltd. Volker hat langjährige Erfahrung im Aircraft Leasing Bereich. Mit seinem Banking-Background hielt er Führungspositionen bei großen Leasinggesellschaften inne, darunter Intrepid, BOC Aviation und zuletzt als CEO von ELIX Aviation Capital Ltd., einer führenden Leasinggesellschaft für Regionalflugzeuge. Volker wird die Diversifikation der EMP durch sein großes Industrienetzwerk ausbauen und dafür parallel eine Leasinggesellschaft in Irland aufbauen.


Stefan Ziegler


Stefan Ziegler

Stefan Ziegler repräsentiert den EMP Gesellschafter Addvalue Capital, die das Beteiligungs- und Transaktionsmanagement eines deutschen Single Family Office verantwortet. Er wird das Führungsteam der EMP unterstützen, die Geschäftsfelder weiter auf- und auszubauen und nationalen wie internationalen Investoren neue Beteiligungsmöglichkeiten zu eröffnen. Dabei bringt er seine Erfahrung im Bereich der Flugzeugfinanzierung und bei Investmentprodukten aus seiner vorigen Tätigkeit ein. Als langjähriger Geschäftsführer der KGAL Gruppe, sowie Geschäftsführer und Aufsichtsrat der Lufthansa Leasing GmbH war er für Leasingtransaktionen der Lufthansa Gruppe und die Initiierung von institutionellen Investmentfonds in den Bereichen Aviation, Alternative Assets und Real Estate verantwortlich.

Team

Patrice Dietzel

Patrice Dietzel

PROKURIST

Verantwortlich für die Strukturierung, Dokumentation und Implementierung von Transaktionen. Patrice verfügt über mehr als 12 Jahre Erfahrung mit internationalen, strukturierten Asset-Finanzierungen. Nach seinem betriebswirtschaftlichen Studium war er bei der Hannover Leasing tätig, wo er für die Entwicklung und Implementierung neuer Finanzierungsoptionen für Infrastruktur und Flugzeuge verantwortlich war.

Klaus Roeder

Klaus Roeder

PROKURIST

Verantwortlich für Portfoliomanagement und Investor Reporting, sowie Produktmanagement mit allen regulatorischen Aspekten. Klaus verfügt über mehr als 13 Jahre Erfahrung in internationaler Asset-Finanzierung. Nach seinem Betriebswirtschaftsstudium startete er seine Karriere bei Arthur Andersen in kapitalmarktbezogenen Projekten. Bevor er bei EMP einstieg, war er Projektmanager bei Hannover Leasing mit Schwerpunkt Asset Management und Umsetzung von Infrastrukturprojekten, insbesondere im Bereich der erneuerbaren Energien.

Spike Fulford (CFA)

Spike Fulford (CFA)

Verantwortlich für Akquise, Financial Modeling und Client Relations. Der Investmentmanager bringt 11 Jahre Erfahrung in der Luftfahrtbranche mit. Nach zwei Jahren bei QinetiQ wechselte Spike Fulford 2008 zu Airbus, wo er bis Anfang 2017 verschiedene leitende Positionen im Bereich der Customer Services, der Endmontage sowie bei der Kundenfinanzierung innehatte. Er verfügt über einen M.Eng in Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik, ein PGC in Management und hält den Titel Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA).

Claudia Lennartz

Claudia Lennartz

OFFICE- und PROJEKT-MANAGERIN

Die Office- und Projektmanagerin verfügt über langjährige Erfahrung in der internen Organisation von Projekten. Bevor Claudia Lennartz bei EMP einstieg war sie viele Jahre Assistentin von Philipp Prior und unterstützte das Team bei Hannover Leasing.

Mark Rangel

Mark Rangel

Mark verstärkt EMP Aviation Ireland Ltd. in Dublin bei der Finanzmodellierung und Transaktionsumsetzung. Aus seiner Zeit bei KPMG in Kuwait verfügt über ein tiefes Verständnis der Betriebs- und Finanzstruktur mehrerer Institutionen der Fertigungs-, Dienstleistungs- und Finanzbranche im Nahen Osten erwarb. Vor seinem Start bei EMP absolvierte er den MSc in Aviation Finance der UCD Michael Smurfit Graduate Business School in Dublin und arbeitete für SMBC Aviation Capital.


Thomas Lüdicke


Thomas Lüdicke

Parallel zu seinem Studium in München, unterstützt Thomas das Transaktionsteam der EMP.

Domenic Meining

Domenic Meining

Parallel zu seinem Studium in München, unterstützt Domenic das Transaktionsteam der EMP.

STARTEN SIE IHRE KARRIERE
» BEI DER EMP «

INVESTMENT
STRATEGIE

EMP ist einer der Marktführer für strukturierte Flugzeugfinanzierungen in Deutschland. EMP arrangiert die langfristige Leasingfinanzierung mit der Airline und platziert die Finanzierungstranchen als institutionelles Produkt bei nationalen und internationalen Versicherungen, Versorgungswerken, Family-Offices oder Stiftungen.

Flugzeugleasing-Investments zeichnen sich durch besondere Erfolgsfaktoren aus:

  • Sie dienen in der strategischen Asset Allokation zur Diversifizierung der Kapitalanlagen, da deren anlagespezifische Risiken mit den Risiken traditioneller Assets nur wenig korrelieren.
  • Durch Vereinnahmung von Laufzeiten-, Illiquiditäts- und Risikoprämien bieten Flugzeuginvestments attraktive Risiko-Rendite-Profile, die mit traditionellen Asset-Klassen im derzeitigen Marktumfeld kaum abzubilden sind.
  • Flugzeugleasing-Investments ergänzen alternative Assetklassen wie z.B. Immobilien- und Infrastrukturanlagen, für die in vielen Fällen schon die Risikobudgets ausgeschöpft sind bzw. kein ausreichender und geeigneter Dealflow vorzuweisen ist.

Das Team der EMP begleitet die Investoren eng bei grundsätzlichen Umsetzungsfragen der Portfoliokonstruktion und unterstützt die Kunden in den Bereichen Risiko-Management, Reporting und Regulierung.

Stories

Kontakt

EMP Structured Assets GmbH

Weinstr. 3
80333 München
Germany

+49 89 21 23 12 60
contact@emp-assets.com